NEWS | RTS Programme Awards

    RTS Logo

    As RTS Patrons, we’re looking forward to attending the Programme Awards tomorrow night at the Grosvenor House Hotel.

    Leading the comedy nominations are Catastrophe, Car Share and Chewing Gum, while Ant and Dec receive their 15th nomination for the Entertainment Performance award, against The Last Leg’s Adam Hills and A League of Their Own’s Jack Whitehall.

    This year the Breakthrough Award has been introduced to recognise the emergence of significant new talent in British production. Leading the nominations in this category are Michaela Coel for E4’s Chewing Gum, Sian Gibson for BBC One’s Peter Kay’s Car Share and Channel 4’s Richard Bentley for The Stranger on the Bridge. Coel has two further nominations for E4’s Chewing Gum. Rob Delaney and Sharon Horgan’s Channel 4 series Catastrophe is also a strong contender.

    Channel 4 are well represented throughout the Drama categories with Humans, No Offence, This Is England ’90, and three nominations in the Single Drama category alone with Black Mirror: White Christmas, Coalition and Cyberbully.

    It’s been an excellent year across the genres of television programming, with a change to the line up of judges rightly made in order to represent British society more accurately, with 52% of the 200 jurors female, and 27% BAME. The Awards chairman and CEO of The Foundry, Alex Mahon, said “I am delighted as the new Chairman to share the news that we have substantially changed the make-up of the judging chairs and the juries to a pattern that I feel is now more representative of Britain and of our viewers.”